Format & Rules

Download ACST-Rules.pdf

Summary of Official Rules of the ACST

(MCC Laws of Cricket are followed, except where otherwise stipulated)

Sevens Rules

Matches with seven players per team and five overs aside. Before the match the captain will nominate his five bowlers meaning that one player along with the wicket-keeper will not bowl.

The innings finishes at the fall of the sixth wicket but there will be no last man standing and retired players are not allowed to return to the crease.

Spirit of Cricket

Preamble to the Laws of Cricket:

Cricket owes much of its appeal and enjoyment to the fact that it should be played not only according to the Laws, but also within the Spirit of Cricket.

The major responsibility for ensuring fair play rests with the captains, but extends to all players, umpires and, especially in junior cricket, teachers, coaches and parents.

Respect is central to the Spirit of Cricket.

Respect your captain, team-mates, opponents and the authority of the umpires.

Play hard and play fair.

Accept the umpire’s decision.

Create a positive atmosphere by your own conduct, and encourage others to do likewise.

Show self-discipline, even when things go against you.

Congratulate the opposition on their successes, and enjoy those of your own team.

Thank the officials and your opposition at the end of the match, whatever the result.

Cricket is an exciting game that encourages leadership, friendship and teamwork, which brings together people from different nationalities, cultures and religions, especially when played within the Spirit of Cricket.